The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm new to the hobby and freshwater aquariums in general. This is my second nano but first shrimp only tank.

I recently, about 1.5 weeks ago, had a die off by changing too much RO water over the course of a few days per a LFS recommendation. I was a bit disappointed. One of the adult RCS was a berried female and I couldn't just let all the eggs go. I researched artificial hatching and figured I wanted to at least give the eggs a chance.

I used some aquarium tweezers to get her out of the tank. I put her in a small dish and gently got her eggs off of her with a flat aquarium planting tool. I didn't have the right mesh so I cut up an aquarium net and placed the eggs away from any of the seems. I used a tiny office clip and clipped the mesh net next to my filter so the waterfall could keep gentle water movement over them.

I look at them periodically and last night it seemed they had eyes, but so hard to tell.

I just looked at them and thought one had a tail out of an egg. I used zoom on my iPhone to see that. But then I thought maybe it was fungus? I have no clue. So I gently removed the mesh net and put it in a small dish with the tank water. What did I find??? A shrimplet and definitely eyes on the other eggs!!! I'm laughing a bit at my excitement.

I put the mesh back in the tank clipped to the side next to the waterfall so the remaining can hatch. Then I noticed another teeny tiny one on my micro sword plant at front of the tank. I have about 10 other shrimplets that are almost 2 weeks old.

Artificial hatching does work! I'm so excited! Now I have two adults, about 10 two week old shrimpies, and who knows how many newborns!

Wow!