The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So guys i have upgraded my tank from a normal household cfl to a parallel light (pl) which is 36 watts (the earlier cfl was 14 watts) and has 6500k and 2750 lumens .. my tank is a 35 us gallon ..is this light good for my planted tank? is my tank still a low light tank?? i am new at planted tanks so please give me as much information as possible .. thanks in advance aquarium fish forum smiley

·
Registered
13,143 Posts
So guys i have upgraded my tank from a normal household cfl to a parallel light (pl) which is 36 watts (the earlier cfl was 14 watts) and has 6500k and 2750 lumens .. my tank is a 35 us gallon ..is this light good for my planted tank? is my tank still a low light tank?? i am new at planted tanks so please give me as much information as possible .. thanks in advance aquarium fish forum smiley
Using the "guidline" of watts per gallon.. you are still low light.. but much better than what you had,,

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
How much light you have depends very heavily on how good the reflectors are. If they are like the AH Supply reflectors:

you should get low-medium light, around 40 PAR. But, if they are like the "common" reflectors in that illustration, you may have as little as 20 PAR, very low light.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
How much light you have depends very heavily on how good the reflectors are. If they are like the AH Supply reflectors:

you should get low-medium light, around 40 PAR. But, if they are like the "common" reflectors in that illustration, you may have as little as 20 PAR, very low light.
its funny i dont have any reflectors ..ahahaha .. i dint know reflectors matter so much .. thats so dumb of me :/ ... the lfs guy always keeps it without any reflectors .. more over i dont know where i would get the reflectors for this one ..is there any other alternative?

·
Registered
170 Posts