The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am sure its not ideal...

Im new at this...

I have 2x 150W Halides on my 130g, running 8-10 hours a day:icon_cool. With pressurised CO2. The plant growth is not great<< and I think its because my lights are on to long, and are to high..?

Can I run them for less time to make things work better?

Help plz:icon_ques

·
Registered
1,701 Posts
I am sure its not ideal...

Im new at this...

I have 2x 150W Halides on my 130g, running 8-10 hours a day:icon_cool. With pressurised CO2. The plant growth is not great<< and I think its because my lights are on to long, and are to high..?

Can I run them for less time to make things work better?

Help plz:icon_ques
No you are time wise in the right duration.
Are you absolutely certain you have enough co2 in the water ?
How are you certain there is ?

Have you seen this thread ?
plants able to grow in extreme low light (4umols of PAR)

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/lighting/146254-plants-able-grow-extreme-low-light.html

As you can see plants can grow in very low light. The limiting factor to plant growth is always first carbon.

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Your Lighting Question

Good morning tank...

Not familiar with CO2. Never used it in any of my planted tanks. You have plenty of light. 1 to 2 watts of light per gallon of tank size will grow most of the aquatic plants on the market.

Aquatic plants are tropical and used to long hours of daylight. If you have your tank lights on timers, then 10 hours would be the minimum. I have mine set for 12 on and 12 hours off.

Nutrients are almost as important as lighting. You need a source for macro and micro nutrients. The macro are easy, just do frequent and large water changes and let the fish add their part.

The micro need to come from a commercial source, either dry or liquid. I prefer liquids, they're easy to dose and inexpensive if you shop around.

B

·
Registered
689 Posts