The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I have a 90 gallon with 1 Amazon Sword, 4 Anubias, 3 Crypts, 1 Marimo ball, 1 Corkscrew Val, 2 Dwarf Subulatas, and 1 Dwarf Lily. I have 3, 48" T-8 light tubes over it with a total wattage of 96W. I use tap water (hard and alkaline) and dose only Seachem Flourish as per the bottle directions. Would Co2 benefit me? Ive read about Flourish Excel, but it seems that pressurized co2 is the cheaper route in the long run. Is co2 even needed on this tank? Ive also been battling blue/green algae for @ 8 months now too. Would pressurized co2 help with that?

Thanks,
Patrick

·
Registered
7 Posts
Im new to the planted tank two, i had co2 running on my tank for 3 months, until the tank ran out. The plants seemed to really like it, and grew quick. I havnt noticed much difference now without co2. I did use 1" eco complete for 1" substrate. I havnt dosed any fert because i was having problems with algea 2. I had blue/green algea two and had to use maracyne to get rid off it, it cost me 40$ to treat my tank for a week, but it worked. Hope that helps a little.

·
Super Moderator
12,058 Posts
With your rather low lighting conditions, CO2 is not an absolute requirement. However, even in low light settings, CO2 will benefit plants.

For sure, Flourish Excel would not be an economical way to go in a 90g tank, as the dosing would get expensive very quickly. Pressurized CO2 may have a higher initial cost, but the maintenance cost afterwards is very cheap.

(A stable) CO2 (level) will also help with BGA.

Also as ktm4us6 mentioned, it is possible to fight off BGA with erythromycin, but unless you address the root case of the bacteria, it will come back.

·
Registered
1,012 Posts