The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey there, i'm relatively new to planted tank. and just recently bought a CO2 system. my goal is to learn to at least to keep the plants from dying...

currently i have rotala h'ra and hairgrass and trying to supply CO2 to help them achieve decent grow at first. but i'm still struggling about the color of my drop checker..some articles says it has to be a lime green or light green, but some indicator shows vivian green (dark green) is the ideal one.

yesterday for unknown reason, my CO2 level was exploding fast and turning my drop checker into lime green in just under 4 hours, and the fish were gasping on the surface. few of them were beginning to float around. fortunately i managed to save all of the tetras by removing them to a fresh water in a bucket. although i lost 4 shrimps in the process...

this is where my fishes starts to gasp...

so from that experience i dial down my CO2 to reach dark green color

so far the fishes are behaving normally..but i don't know if that color is enough to supply enough CO2 level for the plants..

i was thinking maybe i should upgrade from a standard diffuser to an inline in order to have a more fine CO2 with a lower bps as well. but i don't have the knowledge about what to decide

my tank setup are:
  • 40cm cube; 60ish ltr or 16.4 gal (nano?)
  • 5KG CO2 cylinder
  • vivaria single gauge reg + 2in1 bubble counter
  • ista ufo diffuser (small)
  • TOPKA LW603B Canister
plants:
  • hairgrass
  • rotala h'ra
  • buce (from older setup)
can anyone share any drop checker color in the tank and share their experience with that level of CO2??please advise

·
Registered
38 Posts
Drop checkers are pretty unreliable when it comes to determining CO2 levels, the different solutions people put in them react differently as well, and there is a significant delay in the color change, so it's not ideal comparing with others.