Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm new to planted aquaria and I love what it offers so far! So, my stats:

60-gal freshwater aquarium w/livestock & plants:

-2 elephant-nose fish
-3 geophagus (3.5-4")
-4 small congo tetras
-2 small clown loaches
-1 juvenile electric blue jack jempsey (2.5")

-Lots of Cabomba furcata
-1 banana plant
-Just ordered some dwarf tears & Brazilian pennywort! (not in yet)

I've got one of those Marineland LED (36") lights (cost me about $200) and a strong Aquaclear filter & airstone.

So, my question is about Carbon! Is liquid Carbon gonna do the trick? It seems like some folk who are online have fancy setups that involve pressurized Carbon. Is that necessary? I've been putting a capful of liquid Carbon in the tank every other day and the plants seem to be growing.

As far as substrate, an additional questions regards how much rooting I can expect my plants to be doing. Not a day goes by without me having to reach in and re-root a plant (because I guess they're not rooting?). I've got some plant anchors but my geophagus keeps rooting around in the substrate! (My substrate is called "Aquadirt" --- sold especially for the planted aquarium).

Any advice would be wonderful. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
306 Posts
I have a few questions and some comments, so here goes. What are you using for you carbon source? Also, can you be a little bit more specific on the light you have? Is it the Double Bright or the Aquatic Plant light? My guess is the Geo's are responsible for the plants being uprooted. They aren't called eartheaters for no reason. And in my experience, plants just don't uproot themselves if they have enough to hold them down.

·
Registered
327 Posts