The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I could be wrong but I rarely see any Kessil users on here. To me it's the only light that can bring out shimmer as close to the wild as possible. Spectrum-wise and color-wise it can be weak though. Anyone/Kessil user can chime in?

Here's my low tech 29gal that uses a Kessil A160WE. Sorry for the amateur tank. I'm just a novice aquarist.

·
Registered
227 Posts
I think the biggest issue with Kessil is the color spectrum and price point. The price becomes even more of an issue when you have a longer tank and need multiple units. A lot of people also find the shimmer effect distracting and a bit much. To each their own though, it’s definitely not a bad light, it just comes down to a matter of taste.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Price is a huge aspect. I think I paid like $350 for a kessil A160E for the light, mount, and controller. And wasn't even getting full coverage on my tank. Meanwhile, you can spend $300 on a much larger Chiros WRGB2 with a phone app and a way more customizable spectrum that has higher PAR values and actually tells you what they are.

To set up Kessils on any tank that needs multiple lights the price difference becomes huge.

Also, the AI Primes are also comparable in terms of output/shimmer for a much lower price and much more spectrum customization.

·
Registered
16g rimless cherry shrimp, 20g cube dwarf cichlid, 40g breeder nano community.
595 Posts
I wanted Kessils when I started getting more into the hobby and getting more high tech. I just can't justify that expense. I suppose if I had a large centerpiece high tech tank (like a 125g or 250g) I'd spring for them.

·
Registered
13,080 Posts
In the past they had sub-standard color (personal rant). They have progressed but still the most secretive maj. manuf. It's annoying. .

Fortunately they came out w/ the tuna sun a360x

·
Registered
934 Posts