The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I've been using this form for advice and research for years and finally had a question I haven't been able to find an answer for, so it's time to make an account and post.

I'm new to shrimp keeping and am enamored by my six red rilis. When some of them developed their saddles, I was over the moon and very hopeful that the remaining males would mate with them. Well, a week or so later and the late bloomers saddled up and now my dreams of having babies are shot.

Now, I'm starting to look at acquiring some more to see if I can successfully breed them. I know it can take a while until shrimp are sexually mature enough to show their saddles, and they often need to settle into a tank before their colors brighten up and they become saddled/ready to mate, so I'm hesitant to add to the tank unless I know I'm not spending $40 plus $50 shipping on another batch of all girls (the only LFS near me with shrimp other than RCS only ever has a max of two of a species since they keep em as skittles, so buying local isn't an option).

So: Is it possible to ask for a vendor to make sure I get some males? Or is it impossible to tell until they've totally settled in? Further, would this be too difficult to fulfill and be disregarded? Do you have any experience with this sort of thing yourself? I've got some time before I would be able to get a cycled quarantine tank ready for any potential bachelors, so I want to make sure I do my due diligence.

DSCF3748.png

·
Registered
243 Posts
Some will do so. I think aquatic arts will sell a breeder pack. Otherwise you will probably need to order in batches of ten. Odds are you'll get a male in that many. Good news is it's ok to have more females. Shrimp have a small bioload, so the more the merrier!

Reactions: evil8 and Nuthatch

·
Registered
237 Posts