The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally new to all of this, and I want to try to increase my chances of hitting the sweetspot to not need extra CO2 and not just feed the algae.

It appears as though there is a great disparity between different brands of products. If my budget wasn't so "low-tech" it would be amazing to invest in a PAR meter.

My new tank came with a T8 24inch single 20w white-"reflector" Perfecto strip. Before finding this forum, I just went out and bought the best I could find locally: an Aqueon brand dual-lamp, 30inch long set with a very square mirror reflector and 2 included 18W(each) T5-sized bulbs.

My tank is probably going to be difficult to light properly. It is a 56Gallon tank that is 30inches wide, 18inches from front-to-back, and 24inches tall.

This is a picture of what I now have:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12554833/lights.jpg

I have absolutely no idea how bad (or good) these ballasts are, but it seems pretty obvious what these reflectors are like.

I am trying to wrap my brain around exactly what the micromols might be at the very bottom, middle, and top of my tank if I used exactly what I have now.

I'm guessing maybe it would yield low light at the very bottom and mid-to-high at the very top if I used all three bulbs? I have a big hunk of driftwood that I could use as an elevated planter to get the plants closer to the top, if I absolutely had to.

I don't want the plants to grow incredibly quickly. Low-tech and low-maintenance is quite preferable-- but my main concern is not creating the perfect recipe for algae.

My water will be maintained between 65° and 68° if that matters (regarding the algae issue).

Do I need both of the sets that I have now or does putting them both together do absolutely nothing toward getting more light into the recesses of the bottom of the tank?