The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, just wanted to introduce myself, I have a diploma in aquaculture and specialized in fish health with tropical fish breeding (easy guys like angels, rams, danios, bettas) as a close second. I have had many tanks but over the last few years only one remains. A quaint little 30 g community with a few scraggly java ferns.

I've decided to set up my new 55g bowfront as a planted tank, i don't want to go the CO2 route yet but may in the future. Here's the planned set up

Carib-sea Eco-complete substrate 60lbs sound right?
Coralife Freshwater Aqualight-30" Double Strip - Do they usually come with bulbs?
Fluval 303 canister filter
Coralife 65 Watt 6,700K Power Compact Lamp- Straight Pin (x2)

That should be 2. 4 wpg, should be enough. Not really sure what's going in the tank yet, maybe a semi-aggressive barbs and such.

Oh, the water is soft and ph about 6.5-7.

Any noob tips or suggestions? I keep reading and reading and can't wait to get started, but I have to wait untill my krib babies are big enough to move....

kara

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The fixture it came with is 30" that's all that will fit.

I will check out the aquasoil thanks. It's been hard finding products that I can purchase in Canada. Is there a supplier for aquasoil?

"A high pH level (alkaline) of the substrate causes difficulties for aquatic plants in consuming nutrients. The Aqua Soil Series decreases the hardness of the water and lowers the PH level to the degree at which most aquatic plants can consume nutrients and comfortably grow. Aqua Soil granules maintain their shape and density for long periods underwater securing good circulation of water and oxygen through the substrate. With Aqua Soil, growing difficult plants such as Tonina sp. becomes easier, and it is ideal for fishes demanding soft water."