The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Solved :) but see last post please, new questions!!

Ok TOTAL newb at this stuff and haven't ever really messed with regulators ever.
Now of course I get the Rex regulator and I'm a little confused even with his instructions. A diagram would be very very helpful.

This is what I got, Regulator with Fabco needle valve and his ghetto bubble counter.
Now as far as installing this I kind of know what to do. First of course connect the regulator to the tank with the washer inside the nut. I supose the perma seal thing packaged with the fabco screws into the cylinder valve (inside threads of the valve)? And I still use the washer between the nut and valve?

So now after this is where I get confused (pretty early I know). There's a nipple at the bottom of the silver box attached to the selonoid. Run a hose to my fabco needle valve. I'm not really to sure on how exactly to operate this valve so any instructions on that would be great also. After that it goes to my bubble counter with a check valve on each side of the counter. I only recieved one check valve I believe that was packaged with the fabco( a nice metal one). Then one that was packaged with my Red Sea reactor ( a cheap plastic one), so I only have two total I think.
Not to sure how to hook up the counter...fill it with water or mineral water and thats it? Do I fill it ALL the way up?
This statement from Riggs instructions makes ZERO sense to me:
"The best way to fill the bubble counter is to attach both needle vavles and use the buble counter as a straw. Or use the included syringe" In which I don't see any "syringe" anywhere.
After the bubble counter I guess it goes into the tank to the reactor. I planned on having the check valve the reactor came with inside the tank about one inch from the reactor inlet. Then the next check valve between the fabco and bubble counter.