The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, these questions are for anyone who has owned or used a Chihiros WRGB II (60 or 90) or similar models. If you have experience with different but comparable brands in this tier (functional, price, specs, etc.) I would also like your input as I am open to suggestions.

I have almost exclusively used T5ho ballasts to provide for my tanks' needs, so I have little to no experience with LED systems. I have personally used a Chihiros A601 over a betta tank, as well as an 18" Nicrew LED over a crayfish tank and both worked fine, however I kept no demanding plants there.

I do not mind having to mount the light on the tank or hanging it pendant. I like the controller for adjusting light values but it is a feature I could do without. I only want one fixture, and do not want it to interfere with the tank cover.

I am aiming for a target PAR of 70-80 at substrate, higher is fine, but that is the minimum. On their website, they claim to have 120+ in the center and 60 around the corners at 55cm.

I do plan on eventually assembling a Co2 system for the tank. The tank dimensions are 36.25"L x 18.25"W x 17"H

Now the questions,
1. Are those PAR readings accurate? Even if they aren't exact, are their ranges accurately advertised?
2. Will the beam spread on a single WRGB (60 or 90) be enough to cover the footprint of a 40B?
3. Will the WRGB be able to provide enough light when I install a Co2 system on the tank?

And lastly, if you think I should go with a similar fixture from another company, why do you think so?

Thank you for your input!

·
Registered
108 Posts
I have the WRBII 90 over a 20 long right now (way overkill, but waiting to upgrade to a 90p soon)