The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I'm looking at building a regulator and trying to determine which way I want to dissolve the CO2. I'm running a 20g and don't have a lot of space under the stand so a reactor is probably out. I'd also like to keep as much equipment out of the tank as possible, so this leads me to an inline diffuser.

Can anyone recommend one to either stay away from or to buy without hesitation? Also, how many bubbles in the water are we talking? I've never done CO2 before and I'm not sure what to expect in this area.

Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
16g rimless cherry shrimp, 20g cube dwarf cichlid, 40g breeder nano community.
593 Posts
I've been using the Nilocg inline diffuser on my 45g (moving it to a 39g this week) and it works great, but I do get a lot of bubbles coming from the inflow lily pipe that makes the water less than clear. I have the ISTA External CO2 Ceramic Reactor Diffuser coming in tomorrow's mail to setup on a 16g. It might be overkill, but I'm hoping I get less hazy water on this setup... note - I'm also using a spray bar on this little tank.

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've been using the Nilocg inline diffuser on my 45g (moving it to a 39g this week) and it works great, but I do get a lot of bubbles coming from the inflow lily pipe that makes the water less than clear. I have the ISTA External CO2 Ceramic Reactor Diffuser coming in tomorrow's mail to setup on a 16g. It might be overkill, but I'm hoping I get less hazy water on this setup... note - I'm also using a spray bar on this little tank.
Less then clear? I understand there will be some bubbles, but how bad is it? I think I'm either going to go with this one from Colin at Nilocg or the one from CO2Art.