The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have this bee in my bonnet which has been buzzing into my ear that in a high lighted planted aquarium, when all the colour bands are present in high intensity, each of the plant specie will be satiated with energy by absorbing their favourite colour band, by producing the pigments to do so and thus being compelled to show their most colourful self.

So after more than a month of neglect while I corrected the lights and renewed all the wiring and CO2 supply; I have severely pruned away the rank growth, and done a water change.

The size of the tank is – 72” – 36” – 24” high
The lights are 3 X 150W 10000K MH, + 2 X 150W 3000K MH, + 3 X 40W 6500K T8, + 2 X 40W “Azoo Tripower” (magenta coloured) T8

I am a bad photographer the attachment has been resized but I have not played with the colours.

Attachments

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
Wow! That is a spectacular tank. All the photo needs a something to indicate the scale, like a human hand or perhaps an elephant! This demonstrates one weakness of photos compared to actually being there.

·
Super Moderator
12,114 Posts
I cannot even imagine having that much light over a tank. Do you have any algae issues?
+1. Five metal halides and five T8 bulbs seems just to be a little excessive.

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
As to the dimension, it is a little too high and wide for a coffin (someone had some intention to something with it and some formalin when I passed away so I am building another 6" away slightly shorter and wider to make her desist from such ideas). I built the inner sides with granite sheets. I do get some GSA on the anubias, then I have decided to up the phosphate and find out if Tom Barr is correct.

·
Registered
21,012 Posts