The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently took the plunge on going high tech with lighting and co2 injection, and I'm looking for all of the suggestions I can get, outside of the stickies at the top of this forum. I just recently put about 4 bags of eco-complete at the bottom of my blue substrate gravel. I attached a few pics of my setup, as far as setup goes, I have:

• 55 gallon tank
  • Current satellite plus pro lighting
  • Two Emperor 400 HOB filters
  • Complete Ultimate CO2 system from aquariumplants.com (arrives tomorrow).
  • Hydor 425 circulation pump
I'm brand new to CO2, and have heard horror stories about people coming home to dead fish due to a failed needle valve, so I decided to splurge on an electronic one. The system I got has an internal reactor. Any suggestions you can offer a noob like me would be much appreciated! I've been using excel for the last week until I get my CO2 system tomorrow, and only dose seachem flourish about twice a week at the moment. So much information out there as far as what to dose goes. .

Attachments

·
Registered
5 Posts
What are your goals for the tank? Are you noticing any issues thus far? That might make it easier to give advice.

Typically, I'd say forgo the gravel substrate, but that also depends on your goals for the tank. One of the benefits of high light / CO2 is being able to grow a very large quantity of plants quickly, but it's not a requirement to be heavily planted either. If you were planning to plant much more densely than what you have now, I'd say the gravel substrate may hold you back some what.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·