The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a noob...

anyways, I just started a 55 gal tank a little over a week ago. I have 3 gold Gouramis, 3 tin foil barbs, 3 tiger barbs, 1 pleco, 1 parrot fish..All seem to be doin well with each other..

What other fish would be a good to add in there?

·
Registered
3,207 Posts
Tiger barbs, to me, rules out shrimp unless you're feeling lucky. A great big shoal of them does look pretty nice, though.
I agree, my Tiger barbs loved shrimp cocktails, but they weren't in the original stocking list, and wouldn't last against a parrot fish.

Not only do Tiger barbs they look nice, but they have great personalities that really come out when they are comfortable in a bigger group. Mine followed me around like a little stalking wolf pack.

·
Registered
842 Posts
I don't want to rain on your parade, but did you cycle the tank with established media? I am concerned you may get an ammonia spike adding that many fish in the first week. If the tank isn't fully cycled, I wouldn't add anything else yet.

And tin foil barbs get big. Real big.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I don't want to rain on your parade, but did you cycle the tank with established media? I am concerned you may get an ammonia spike adding that many fish in the first week. If the tank isn't fully cycled, I wouldn't add anything else yet.

And tin foil barbs get big. Real big.
i had it established for about a week and ive been testing the water about every 12hrs.
And if the tin foil barbs get way to big, i have another 55gal tank that im not using so i could always start another.

·
Banned
29 Posts
Wood Shrimp?

I'm totally newbie to the way you guys do things here, I have a very different tank. not a visually beautiful at all.