The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still a beginner when it comes to taking care of fish and i need all the help i can get.

How long will fish normally survive with ick? I recently added and removed fish from my tank and now i noticed that a few fish have ick.

I've always heard about the desease but have never seen it until now.

Here are the problems i have with the tank.

I noticed that the nitrates were high because of a pleco that was oversize for my tank. He was a real crap machine. I removed him from my tank and added a few fish otto's to replace him from the local fish store. I also added a few fish.

I have the following items in the tank and I will need to know if they will be safe with the treatment.

5 glo fish, 3 red eye tetras, 1 cory, 4 ottos, 1 rosey barb, 1 gold barb, 4 little red fish (I don't know there name but they school really tight, also these are the fish with the most noticable ick issue)

Here are the 2 items that i question.

I have 1 albino dwarf frog, and anacharis planted in the tank.

Will any of the fish and items have problems with copper treatment? Also any suggestions or guides you can point me to to treat the tank will be much appreciated.

Once a fish has ick can other fish catch it from that fish? I've read up that all fish have ick but when their imune system lowers because of differences in the tank it forms on their skin.

Here is my second issue

I have a rosey barb and a gold barb in my tank and they were picked on very heavily by 2 odesa barbs. I have removed the odessa barbs and now the rosey barb continues to pick on the gold barb but it's not bighting at it.

It will swim under the gold barbs belly and push it up over and over and over again. The gold barb now has spots on its side and it's back fin is rotting. The rosey barb has a raw spot on it's head from doing this.