The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
I put black onyx sand UNDER eco complete as my substrate.....I know...FAIL......so what now?

My idea is to take everything out of the tank, and of course as I do this the sand and the eco complete will mix. I COULD try not mix them if it would be beneficial to use them separate when im redoing it. Everyone is saying to use organic soil on the bottom. What do I buy? I cant afford aqua soil, or ada. BUT what potting soil can be used? Brands? prep for the soil before it goes into the tank? ALSO, do I cover the soil completely with the sand and eco complete? Or do I gently cap it leaving soil exposed before adding water? I was thinking if I didnt cover it completely with sand/eco that it would float, or cause the water to be really murky. Yall please help me, I already effed it up, and I have never done dirt before, so please in LAYMANS terms. :) <3

These are the photos

Attachments

·
Registered
132 Posts
Would a sifter work? I was able to separate play sand from traction sand using a metal kitchen screened sifter. If the 2 items are differently sized, it might work.

·
Registered
1,957 Posts
It doesn't have to be a fail, both the sand and eco-complete are inert. If you like the look you can leave it. If you want to pull it out to put down aquasoil or dirt you can do that to and they will mix and thats fine as well. Anyway over the course of a year most of your sand would go down the bottom anyway because its denser and smaller in particle size then the eco-complete.