The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Setup a Fluval Spec 2 gallon.
I am going to use for Betta Breeding and would like to heat the tank, looking around the web all I find is crappy 25 watt heaters from all over that are either to tall or too expensive. What would be the best heater for this setup(besides room temp)?

Anyone had a good experience with any particular brand?

Thanks!:)
Imi

·
Premium Member
4,840 Posts
I have no good experience with heaters I like in this size, unfortunately. I actually just went without a heater for the last few years on my nano's.

However, there is a Fluval heater that I am interested in trying. 25 watts. Google "Fluval Edge 25 watt heater". They aren't pricey, the are compact, and they attractive enough. They are preset however to 78 degrees so non adjustable. I plan on trying one when I have a few extra dollars.

·
Banned
4,901 Posts
I use 25 watt hydor heaters in my 2.5g and they been going for year plus and they are small about 6" long?
But I did get one that was broken from the start but amazon refunded me.

-Sent from my Samsung Note, a "Phablet"

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Marina makes a decent one that heats the water ~7 degrees above ambient temp.
TopFin is hit or miss in terms of quality

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Marina makes a decent one that heats the water ~7 degrees above ambient temp.
TopFin is hit or miss in terms of quality
So it stays at the temp all the time without any adjustments by the user?

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I use 25 watt hydor heaters in my 2.5g and they been going for year plus and they are small about 6" long?
But I did get one that was broken from the start but amazon refunded me.

-Sent from my Samsung Note, a "Phablet"
Yeah I saw the Hydors around the net,it looks pretty good for the cost. Amazon is great about replacement or if someone messes you over too. I like dealing with them.

·