The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just wanted to share with all of you. I finally got in and added the last piece of decor to the 29 gallon aquarium. It's finished. The theme is old cars at the bottom of the lake. There's an old wreck on the left, a VW Bus in the center that has air bubbles coming out of the tailpipe and an old deteriorating jeep on the right. I'm very pleased with how it turned out. Please excuse the pics, as I am not a professional and am just using my little camera. The first is with the flash on and the second is with it off. For the planted part, up top, in the power filter, I have Pothos and Swedish Ivy. I am using them because they are pretty and because they will root heavily and feed on the waste drawn into the filter.

Bump: Close up view of the cars.

Attachments

·
Registered
39 Posts
I like the car idea. Even seen some lego worlds and green army men in tanks. I know its not for everyone but, whatever floats your boat. Couple things to think about. What you are putting in the tank safe for the inhabitants? Also how could you scape to maybe resemble a road for the wreck. Neat tank! Possibilities are endless in aquariums.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
mdeck,

I didn't think about a road. That's a cool idea! I purchased the cars. They are aquarium decor. I wouldn't put anything in the tank that would harm my fishies. Loves my fishies. :)

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you, Mikeygmzmg! Yes, that's the Emperor 400. I'm so happy that having my Pothos and Swedish Ivy in the filter counts! I'm not really up on underwater plants. I hope to get there. After all, I do have a degree in Horticulture. It's just that I earned the degree learning about land based plants. :)

·
Registered
649 Posts