The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
623 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought I knew enough to successfully grow plants. Yes I am still learning but I have had a lot of trial and error on my other planted tank that is doing alot better now.

This tank is 20gal Long
pH 6.5
kH 35.8 ppm
nitrate 5ppm
haggen diy co2
double bulb coralife T5 18W 6700K light fixture

I dose 1/8 cap of excel every morning and a cap full after a water change.
WC 25% weekly.

The tank is fairly new, about one month.

The Ludwigia Repens is starting to melt and I can't figure out why. There is a small amount of hair algae, I don't think its growing it is definitly stunted. It grew quickly earlier when there was only 3 stems of Hygrophila polysperma. I would imagine there were way to many excess nutrients, so I added more plants and did a larger water change. 2 days after that the ludwgia was pearling very nicely.

This is what it looks like now... the flourite is all over the leaves.

example of flourite dust on leaves

Any ideas?

·
Registered
2,291 Posts
Your water seems very soft - two degrees KH? What does that leave your GH at? I'd harden up your water a bit. Potassium is a good start, but some Ca and Mg may be in need too. I don't usually keep tanks any softer than 5 deg KH - too many problems with plant growth and pH drops.

My $.02 ;). Good luck.

·
Registered
623 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks unirdna
I guess I'll have to order some Ca and Mg

All I have is potassium sulfate, potassium nitrate and mono potassium phosphate.

Is greg watson a good place to get that?

·
Registered
2,291 Posts