The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been practicing taking pictures of my husbands two aquariums (125g and 55g) in preparation to hopefully take some good pictures of my planted tank once it gets up and running. There are so many wonderful pictures on here so I thought it would be fairly simple. Well, it's not. I think I have a fairly decent camera... it's a Kodak C875. I've been playing with the aperture and the shutter speed, etc... and have gotten a few (very few) good ones but overall they're horrible. Any tips and/or suggestions to make it a little less frustrating?

·
Registered
2,602 Posts
I'm in the same boat as you in that I'm far from professional, but want to be able to take some decent pictures of my tank. After messing with my camera a bit (Canon A630 - 8MP), I eventually got some worth looking at. Not being a trained photographer, I can't really give you specific advice, but make sure you turn the flash off and turn down the lighting on the tank, if possible. Use something (tripod would be ideal) to keep it steady and resist the urge to zoom unless you have some kind of nice macro lense. If you want to get in closer, just physically move the camera. I sometimes use the 10 sec timer on the camera, as it eliminates any camera movement caused by pressing the "trigger". Just fyi, I usually take 20+ pictures and sort through to find my favorite one or two.

·
Registered
754 Posts
Point and shoot cameras can be very challenging for a number of reasons, I'll suggest some solutions after each.

1. Shutter lag: there's a delay after you push the shutter, you need to do everything you can to minimize that delay. If the camera has a manual mode, selecting manual and finding an exposure that works, then continuing to shoot in manual mode may reduce the lag. The camera would otherwise be calculating exposure while trying to focus...see below.