The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 40g breeder that I've been growing HC using DSM for about 2 months now. The carpet has grown in very nicely and the tank is ready to be flooded. 80% of the tank has a thick carpet of HC and I plan to fill the remaining 20% with blyxa japonica immediately after flooding.

There are lots of threads and guides about how to grow DSM and how to flood the tank, however, I don't see alot on how/when to introduce livestock into the tank.

As of right now, I have the following on hand that I plan to introduce into this tank. All livestock are in exceptional health from being in species specific quarantine tanks for the last 1-2 months. I plan on having the following in this tank:

Cardinal Tetras
CPDs
Rummynose Tetras
Amanos

As of now, my plan is as follows:

- flood the tank and do 1-2 90% water changes
- raise lights to about 50 par at surface (right now it is something ridiculous like 200par+)
- reduce light hours from 18 hours to 4-5hours
- blast pressurized co2
- begin EI at 1/2 dose
- reduce co2 a little every day until drop checker is lime green

My current dilemma is how to approach the introduction after flooding the tank. In the past, I've always introduced livestock to pressurized tanks at night about 1hr after the co2 turns off. The next day, I lower the bps from normal levels and only have lights/co2 on for half the day. The 3rd day, I return everything to normal and usually the new introductions tolerate it (they're not happy, but not gasping).

So should I do the same thing here with ALL the livestock at once? I'm just a little worried this will be a trainwreck...I've never introduced a full tank's worth of livestock in one go. On the other hand, if i slowly introduce the livestock in groups. I'm worried about algae blooms from the co2 and lights constantly changing week to week as each group is introduced.

Any input would be appreciated! :)

·