The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to the planted tank forum and I just started growing a dwarf hairgrass in my new 10 gallon aquarium and a friend of mine explained to me how to grow this but I'm still a bit confused on how to do it, so I was hoping if someone here on the forum could guide me in the right direction, I would really appreciate it! i currently have the grass planted in eco-complete with a 5500k light bulb shining over the grass, I've had it like this about a week and two days.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok, the light I am using is 5500k,57 watts, is that low light or high light? Because if it is high light I should grow it submerged with c02, if I am not mistaken.

·
Registered
352 Posts
Here's how I planted it
1. Filled up tank w substrate, then filled with water to just get the substrate wet
2. Separated the grass into tiny sections about 1/5 of an inch
3. Plant them around the tank, usually 1inch apart, but if you don't have enough just spread it out evenly.
4. Filled the tank carefully so I didn't disturb the substrate
5. Wait a few weeks and watch for runners. Then trim the grass down to 1/2 inch to promote growth

·
Registered
352 Posts
I Have an eheim 2213 but it's a little pricey, if you're on a budget and new to the hobby I'd use aquaclear people here seems to love it. When you use a hob filter fill the water up so that the filter doesn't make any splashes. That will minimize the loss of co2.

·
Registered
1,595 Posts
Just get a HOB for a 10g. You have more than enough light for 10g. BTW, DHG does not need a whole lot of light to do a carpet. I had a 6' tank entirely carpeted with it not so long ago with minimal light. About 160w worth of cfl on it (100g tank).