The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Honeycomb Master
6,769 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this is an odd place to ask a question like that, but i just found out that someone very close to me was killed in a boating accident a few days ago, and I'm struggling with accepting reality. It was very unexpected and it wasn't his time to go. I have no one to turn to except a few friends who tried to understand what i was going through, but they didn't really understand. I can't focus in school, i'm having flashbacks constantly, and i'm not quite sure what to do.

The last death that i can remember was my grandma when i was 6, but back then i was too young to understand what actually happened. So i guess this is my first time dealing with something like this.

Anyway, how do you guys deal with the passing of someone close?
Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
I ♥ BBA!
12,768 Posts
I am so sorry to hear about your friend. It is never easy, and the best advice I can give you is to remember the good times and to allow yourself to grieve. I found it is important to let yourself be sad, or angry if that is what you are feeling. Ignoring or trying to push away the feelings will make it harder, such as the nightmares.

Talk to your parents (I know, it's hard, but they have lost many people they know as well) if you can. I lost my grandpa last year and I still struggle. The nights I wake up from a bad dream about him or I really start to miss him, I try to think of a funny story he told or a happy memory with him. It makes it easier to deal with.

·
Registered
3,378 Posts