The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was lucky enough to get a bag of Soilmaster Select and I'm new at this so I could use a little help. What is the easiest way to clean it before I put it in the aquarium? Also I've read some people here put a layer of peat on the bottom. Why and how is this done? Thanks

·
Registered
3,145 Posts
When I use Soilmaster I normally don't rinse. Some swear by it, some don't. I'd personally just rather not mess with it and it has never given me any problems.

I put a piece of plastic down on top of the SMS (I just use a scrap of 6 mil plastic left over from redoing the crawlspace) and pour the water onto that. A plate or some other way to diffuse the flow of water would work too, just so you're not stirring it up really violently.

You'll notice as it fills that the dust gets kicked up and it almost looks like smoke rising off the SMS, a very cool effect. It'll look like champaign for awhile too - SMS makes lots of tiny little air bubbles. It will also be cloudy for 2-3 days, but don't sweat it! It'll clear up, I promise.

As far as peat on bottom, just use a VERY light dusting, sprinkle it lightly on. It is nice for an organic source of carbon, but not necessary. You can grow plants well without it.

·
Registered
262 Posts
There is no need to rinse it as long as you fill it up at a super slow rate, it's actually more dusty if you try to rinse it. There will be a dust film on the water surface as you fill it up. Once the tank is almost filled, take a cup and skim off the surface film and you're good to go.

The peat is used to help soften the water. Not much is needed if at all. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,981 Posts