The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, another annoying newb here ☺. So not only am I new to fresh water aquatic plants but I'm very new to the overall hobby of keeping an aquarium itself. I started a few weeks ago with a small 5 gallon, sparsely (anubias barteri) planted tank. 3 plants in all. Of course this wasn't enough for me so I went out and bought a 60 gallon corner tank. Logical progression right? Yea not so much. I've got the tank filled with gravel and the cycling process beginning so I've been doing a ton of reseaarh on what plants I might want to include. I've got a pretty good beginners understanding of the basics of planting a tropical aquarium but there's one thing I'm yet to see spoken about in any blog, forum or article I've read. Simply how many plants should I begin with for a tank my size? Some websites that sell plants have assortments that recommend 100 plus plants for a 60 gallon tank. This seems absurd to me but of course I am a complete novice and that could be totally accurate, I have no idea. Any and all help would be gretly , greatly appreciated! Also if anyone has any recommendations for sies thst sell well priced, good quality aquatic plants , that would be appreciated as well. Thanks everyone.

·
Carpe Diem
7,563 Posts
Welcome to TPT!

Corner tanks look great but are a pain in multiple respects. I have a 36g myself.

Plant wise, get as many different cheap, fast growing plants as you can fit into the tank. There are several reasons for that approach: get your tank stable asap; figure what plants do well and which don't in your environment; forces you to learn more about plants. Once you figure out what end is up and what plants you like, then you can be more selective what you spend your $$ on.