The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm brand new to the CO2 stuff, and hopefully I'll have my system up and running soon...

Is there a thread or other website where I can calculate how much CO2 should be put into my tank?

and then, other than the bubble counter, is there some way to determine how much I am actually putting in?

Thanks much for your help!

Todd

·
Registered
246 Posts
How big is your tank? Like they said you need a drop checker. Place it on the other side of your tank from where your co2 diffuser is located. It will take a few hours for the color to change but it should turn from blue to green. If it is green you have enough co2.

·
Carpe Diem
7,563 Posts
IMHO, the drop checker is an evil fish-killing $10 gizmo. By the time it is the color you *think* it should be, your fish is long dead. Different species have different co2/o2 tolerance levels and no fish cares about your drop checker color.

Instead of relying on unreliable crutch do it the hard way: start low, increase slow, and watch your real limiting factor: your fish.

v3

Reactions: iamaloner

·
Banned
26 Posts
Hey guys,

I'm brand new to the CO2 stuff, and hopefully I'll have my system up and running soon...

Is there a thread or other website where I can calculate how much CO2 should be put into my tank?

and then, other than the bubble counter, is there some way to determine how much I am actually putting in?

Thanks much for your help!

Todd

1) yes, your shooting for 25-35ppm. you'll need the drop checker, some 4dkh solution (don't use tank water) you can make your own or buy it.
it's very cheap and it'll last you a long time.
use the bromothymol blue found in any PH test kit.
and a KH test kit

2) for co2 ppm you use a color chart to cross reference KH, and then PH drop (by color change) to determine the amount in the tank

(some reading to help you before you start):thumbsup: