The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a heavily planted 30 gallon jungle aquascape that I am finally ready to finish up stocking-wise with 3 Honey Gouramis. My lfs doesn't carry females (from what I understand, they are hard to find) and I am just wondering, given this is my first time keeping a Gourami species if three males could do fine together and still live happily without the girls :grin2:. They are the most peaceful species of Gourami so this should work out right?

Any advice, experiences or tips are welcome :laugh2:!

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
Gouramis are not social fish.
They do not pair bond, or form any similar attachment between male and female.
Males are solitary, and territorial.

I would not put 3 male Anabatoids in a tank that is not large enough for them to each have a clearly defined territory.
For Honey Gouramis, they are smaller, and among the more peaceful of Gouramis, so something about 12-18" square per fish might be OK. Say, a foot of swimming space and 6" of driftwood and plants to divide the territories. Perhaps a 4' long tank would work.

·
Registered
173 Posts
So you want 3 Gourami ... your LFS doesn't carry females ... wondering if three males are compatible without females ...

3 males would actually be MORE compatible without females than with mixed sexes.

3 females would work best.

2 males + 1 female or even 1 male + 2 females is asking for much squabbling and chasing. As soon as you introduce the opportunity for procreation you're doomed.

If you've got your heart set on 3 Gourami I'd say stay away from any of the Trichogaster, go with 3 female Trichopodus leerii. Females are readily available at most LFS and adults are easy to sex.

·
Registered
673 Posts