The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
646 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have been looking at filters for my 55 gallon. im hoping to keep the budget under 100$ (the cheaper the better of course!) drs foster and smith are having a pretty good deal for a renaxp2 for 85.99 right now, so im looking for input on that, and i've never used a canister filter before, but also never had a tank this size. would a hob filter suffice? if so, are there any that you guys would recommend? thanks in advance. u guys rock :)

·
Registered
646 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
hmm.. i've been reading alot of reviews for this Penn Plax Cascade Canister Filter 1000 and they seem pretty good. i think i'd like to go with this one vs the rena because it sounds like it's quieter and this tank will be in my living room. anyone second this?

·
Registered
265 Posts
Don't go HOB. More noise and not as efficient.
I have an XP2 on my 46 gallon and love it. I think it would be enuff filtration for your 55.
Mine is so quiet that after cleaning maintenance, I have to put my hand over the spraybar to make sure it’s pumping.
Some canisters are hard to prime. But with the XP series, after cleaning the media, you just have to install the hose disconnect and it primes automatically.
I don’t use the expensive carbon filled media that Rena sells. I buy pillow polyfill from Walmart and use that along with the sponges and polishing pad.
Charles

·
Registered
66 Posts