The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im just about setting up my first planted tank. Im only a Sophomore and completely broke. I live in Skokie and go to a Suburban High School. I teach kids how to swim at my school but it hasnt started and Im completely broke...All i have done right now is. Built my stand, bought a heater and filter..Oh and of course a 29 gallon tank. I would appreciate it if you guys give me some suggestions on where to get cheap things! I live literally 2 miles away from Old Orchard Aquarium and the owner knows me pretty well. But dang. Their stuff is way too expensive. Their fish prices are decent but their equipment is way to expensive. A bag of Eco-Complete is 40 dollars. Their T5HO bulbs are 25 dollars and are only Coralifes. So i need somewhere close to me or people who are willing to sell things cheap to me! Thanks!

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
Online can be cheaper. Check amazon and bigals, ken's, etc. and compare prices with your local stores to see if you can get it cheaper online (be sure to factor in shipping). Also asking for used equipment on here can save you quite a bit of money as well. Searching in the Swap n' Shop and Power Seller sections of the forum can also save you a fortune in fish and plants and even net you some species not available locally and much healthier than most pet stores. I got my lights from AquaTraders. As for substrate, if you want to be cheap about it just get some pool filter sand (50lbs is $7-10) and some root tabs to lace in the soil under your root feeders if you have any and presto. Cheapo substrate that works great. Any ideas on what you want to stock the tank with?

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·