The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a nurse in Indiana. I have had many FW community tanks over the past 30 years. I had switched to mostly saltwater by 2001. I have really missed my gouramis, angelfish and plants. I used home made CO2 in a 2L bottle. Is that still popular? I plan to read through this site but I thought I should introduce myself first. I have a 75 gal reef ready tank to convert to a planted angelfish tank. I never used a sump with FW before but this tank is drilled so I think I should try some type of trickle filter. Is that still done? I feel like I have forgotten everything.
Thanks,
Karen

·
Banned
1,241 Posts
Welcome back. :) Many of us in the FW planted world do use sumps, but we do what we can to remove the trickle from trickle filters. I think you'll find DIY is a little too much for 75, but you can find some good ways to do pressurized cost effectively or avoid it entirely.

Enjoy your reading, and look for posts by wkndracer about his sump. I consider his the gold standard.

At the end of the day, I spend almost all my time here, but you can find good info at www.barrreport.com and http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/

The barrreport especially has some good info on large tanks with sumps.

·
Children Boogie
16,743 Posts
Howdy neighbor,
You'll find lots of helpful folks here. Feel free to ask any questions you may have.

As far the current state of planted aquariums, We do still use 2L CO2 but only for 5-20G tanks. We've moved on to pressurized CO2 tanks and regulator with several diffusing methods. DIY CO2 doesn't provide enough CO2 for a hi-tech situation.

Most of us use canister filters in large tanks which may implement a CO2 reactor.

Of course there are other issues like lights, nutrients, and substrate.

·
Registered
203 Posts