The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! My search skills are lacking. I am new to this high tech Co2 yackety schmackety.

I just had a custom tank made. I'm planning on a heavily planted tank so that my cherry shrimp, ember tetras and celestial danios will be happy.

Stuff I have so far:

2 48" T5HO with 1x6500k and 1x12000k lamps
60"x8"x12" 24 gallon tank
MA957 Co2 regulator with 10lb Co2 tank
Lighting timer
100 watt heater
3 sponge filters with air pump
1 Fluval 4+ filter
2 bags Amazonia soil

Nothing is set up because I am still waiting for my tank to cure.

How do I set up my pressurized Co2? What else do I need besides the regulator/tank?

Sorry about the noob questions.

·
ShrimpRetirement
8,313 Posts
Welcome to TPT. I assume your regulator is already equipped with a needle valve? If so, you'll need CO2 tubing, a bubble counter (visually lets you see how many bubbles you're putting into your tank), and a method of diffusion. Most use ceramic diffusers, DIY PVC reactors, or powerheads. Easiest method would probably be a ceramic diffuser IMO, but it does waste more CO2 gas this way. Who really cares when you can refill anytime right?

A solenoid and timer will be needed if you want your CO2 system to be automated.

I suggest you join SFBAAPS. It's free. Lotta nice folks on there who are all from the bay area.

·
Registered
13,609 Posts
I'd only use one of those bulbs, that's such a small shallow footprint, you simply will not need that much light.

Will make a nice looking interesting tank though.
I'd try for a fast flowing stream layout.

CO2 should be fair easy if you use good flow from one end to the other.

Regards,
Tom Barr

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7