The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been keeping my first planted tank for about 7 months now with moderate success. I recently added some plants, that required high light, so I increased my light with some extra lights I had laying around to see if the plants would take off. They seem to be doing fairly well, but the rest of my plants really died back, even my hornwart, and I have developed some algae(I think BBA). I'm assuming most of this occured because of a lack of Co2. This all was in a 55 gallon setup.

I recently came across a 75 gallon setup that I couldn't pass on. I've moved everything to that tank. I'm by no means an expert, but I want to get things in order and really see things flourish. I will lay out the setup and hopefully I can get some suggestion.

Tank: 75 gallon 4 foot

Substrate: 3-4 inches

Lighting: Nova extreme t5 HOX2 54 watt. The pink bulb went out and my LFS didn't have a replacement in stock, so I went for Coralife 54watt daylight bulb(I hope this wasn't a bad mistake).
In addition, 1-40 watt plant and aquarium bulb.
All together 148 watts: Lights are on for 13 hours. The first two hours at 108 watts, the next ten at 148 watts, and back to 108 watts the last hour.

Co2 and nutrients: Cheapy Jungle brand Co2 system rated for 40 gallons that used fizz tabs(once a day).
Flourish excel every (1-2 days)
Flourish supplement 0.07-0.01-0.37 (1-2 times a week)

Plants: I'm not 100% sure I have my species correct.
Cardamine lyrata
Ceratophyllum submersum
Echinodorus amazonicus
Echinodorus palaefolius var. latifolius
Ludwigia repens
Ludwigia palustris
Pistia stratiotes
Some variety of Anubias
Also, onion, lily and misc bulbs that haven't done anything in about 3 weeks.

Filtration: Fluval 404 canister filter, I try to keep surface agitation as low as possible without stressing my fish.

Temp:78-80