The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the hobby. My 4 year old daughter wanted an aquarium and me being me I'm down a rabbit hole and enjoying it, but a little overwhelmed. I have quite a few questions, mainly around plants, but any general advice on my planned setup would be awesome.

I'm looking for low maintenance plants for an aquascape that I'll be doing in a 65 gallon, 36" L x 21" W x 20" Ht JBJ all in one. Some additional information can be found below.

• No CO2 planned, but know a local source and if the benefits are great and not a ton of maintenance, I might go that route. Any recommendations on a good set up for this?
  • Want low maintenance overall. I understand the regular maintenance, but if i can stay away from really fast growing plants, that's what I'd like. Having two young kids require a lower maintenance tank.
  • plan to use 2 AI prime freshwater lights on 18 inch arms
  • want shrimp and snails, maybe pleco to keep algae at bay
  • want a school of platy or tetra and maybe angelfish
  • Want a natural scape with large Driftwood on one side and smaller stones on the other side with a path of sand or gravel in the middle. I like the Iwagumi layout, but I want a little more going on... less simplistic.
  • Using ADA Amazonia ver.2. Not sure on what kind of sand or gravel. Recommendations?
  • Plan to make a steeper slope with nylon net bag and lava rock
  • 2 Jager 200 watt heaters in the sump area of the AOI
Foreground
I'd like a dense carpet look and low to the ground. It's ok if it grows slow and takes a while to fill in since I don't want to trim as much.
I like S. repens. I also like Monte Carlo and dwarf baby tears, but wondering your thoughts about having to trim more often (no CO2). Dwarf Sag is also something I was looking into.

Midground
Cryptocoryne Wendtii Red or green for a front corner or in front and base of rocks and driftwood.