The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

This is my first post, so hello!!! I'm Ollie. 22 and living in London, I work in the film industry and recently decided to get my first tank.

As mentioned, I'm relatively new to both aqua scaping and fish keeping. I purchased a 6 gal Fluval edge back in February and introduced 6 Male Guppies 2 weeks ago as my LFS deemed my water safe and my Nitrogen cycle present.

I've been struggling with maintenance on the edge since a couple of weeks in but got a good deal on the price and really liked the design of the tank and I do feel it suits my flat. I didn't find much before buying to say it was a difficult one to maintain and was also told it was a good beginner tank with various internet posts saying the same thing.

I have attached photos of my tank and as you can see the plants are far from ideal. I've been dosing "Easy Life Pro Fito" weekly and adding 'Easy Life Easy Carbo' daily for the last week.

My concerns are first, have I got the wrong substrate? I have a base layer for the plant nutrients and then river sand on top. This was advised by the LFS. I'm reading more and more to suggest I may be better off ditching the sand in a planted tank but understand that to remove the sand will be a lengthy process due to the gasses and bacteria it holds that are important in the tank and also if I were to remove too much at once it may poison the fish? Is the sand the issue?

The second issue is my plants seem to be dying slowly and have stringy black/brown algae growing (Photo attached) on them which are very hard to remove and is most sharp to the touch? See the pictures I have attached of my plants. My roots seem to all be going black as well which I read is that they are dying? I'm unsure as to what plants I was sold though and so this may be an incorrect plant issue.