Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got my C02 up and running.

I have a 90gal with following water parms:

PH 6.7
KH 1.6
Amonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 5-10 ppm

Phosphate .25'ish (I've stopped running the Phosban reactor until things settle in.)

I change 20% once a month. (I have been doing this for 6 years. Fish are very healthy.)

I am presently adding 1 tsp Baking Soda twice daily until 9 tsp's have been added. This "should" bring KH to 7.

Fully planted (but not yet rooted). (I bought this "Holiday Special Package") They all look healthy.
Currently adding Seachem Plant Pack "Fundamentals" and "Enhancer:NPK" as per instruction on packs. I have ordered dry ferts (the Fertilizer Combo Pack from Rex Grigg)

Moderately stocked.
Eheim 2215 filter return through a UV.
Spray bar is attached to a Maxi Jet 1200 which cycles "on" for 30 minutes every other hour.

270 watts 6700K CFL (Current 4 bulb fixture).

C02 being added via an Aqua Medic 1000 reactor.

Questions:

What is a good starting bubble count? I presently have it set to 20 pm.

Should I run an air stone when the lights are off?

Should I stop using the "Flourish Excel" in the "Fundamentals" pack?

Any/all suggestions definitely welcome. This is my first attempt at a planted tank.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,477 Posts
everyone will tell you that you dont need excel with co2 but i think that the two of them work great together, although it may be a waste. yes your airstone should come on at night and you should turn off your co2 also. you can use timers for that.
i would start your bubble count off at a few bubbles per second and then adjust it daily until you have good pearling. invest in a drop checker it'll let you know how you're doing

i dont think that you need to get your kh up to 7. i would settle around 3

·
Registered
336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks.