The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

I am new here and I would like to open by giving a huge, “Thank you!” to all of you for providing such an amazing resource. I have a planted tank that I have been working on for about 6 months. I started out by adding way to much light, DIY CO2 and insufficient ferts and ended up with BGA outbreak that completely took over my entire tank. I have since fought back. Through reading much on this site and a few others, I have revamped my whole system and am starting to get toward a place of balance. I have completely beaten back the BGA, and am seeing new growth through-out the tank.

With the receding of the BGA, I am starting to get a new algae that is not growing as fast and furious as the BGA, but I want to get control before it becomes a problem. The new algae looks like diatoms, but the tank has been established for a couple of years. But, like I said above, I have made a lot of changes so maybe I opened the door for diatoms. Or, maybe it is not diatoms, I could certainly be wrong. I am attaching pictures in the hopes that you can help me with the some of the following questions:

What type of Algae is this?
Do I have enough light?
I have Geismann aquaflora that is about 6 months old but the ends seem burned (see photo), could this be causing the issue?
I start-up the CO2 an hour and half before the lights come on, but my drop checker is still blue when the lights come on. It does turn green within an hour or so of when the lights come on, and stays green throughout the rest of the day. Could this be contributing to the issue?

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

David

Tank Summary

Lighting
2 X 54W T5HO
1 Giesmann Aquaflora
1 Deep Blue 10,000 K
3.5" Above surface and 19" above substrate
8 hours/Day in two periods 4 hours in the morning, 2 hour break, 4 hours afternoon/evening

CO2 Injection

Fertilization Dosing
60-80 Gallons