The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have started up a new planted tank using RO water, and I know you must add back trace elements/buffers to the water.... but I have no clue what im measuring when it come to water hardness.

Im looking to set the parameters of the tank around: gH 3-5 with kH 2
But the test I have measures the GH in "mg/l CACO3" and KH in mg/l
How do I convert this to get a regular GH or KH reading?

My water is yet far (from the test):
GH - 60 mg/l
KH - 20 mg/l

Can anyone shine light on this chemistry confusion... I just cant seem to comprehend what means what, and I've done my share of reading too....

·
Banned
260 Posts
Hiya

I am new to RO water too and having to get my head around this stuff too.

mg/l is equal to ppm

So your
GH - 60 mg/l can also be read as 60 ppm
KH - 20 mg/l can also be read as 20 ppm

To get the degrees of hardness dH, you divide by 17.9.

So this means that

GH - 60 mg/l can also be read as 60 ppm which when divided by 17.9 = 3.35 dH
KH - 20 mg/l can also be read as 20 ppm which when divided by 17.9 = 1.12 dH

This is how I understand things, hopefully this can be confirmed by someone much more experienced than me... :)

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hiya

I am new to RO water too and having to get my head around this stuff too.

mg/l is equal to ppm

So your
GH - 60 mg/l can also be read as 60 ppm
KH - 20 mg/l can also be read as 20 ppm

To get the degrees of hardness dH, you divide by 17.9.

So this means that

GH - 60 mg/l can also be read as 60 ppm which when divided by 17.9 = 3.35 dH
KH - 20 mg/l can also be read as 20 ppm which when divided by 17.9 = 1.12 dH

This is how I understand things, hopefully this can be confirmed by someone much more experienced than me... :)
Wow! I hope your right, cuz then i'm just about on track!