The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow fish friends. I am a newbie and need some help. I set up my 50h bow front in August. To start i had river rock layered bottom with philodendron and guppies to breed with a platy and juli cory. I added an Amazon sword and Granite chip gravel while i cycled through some guppies that didnt survive. Guppies start having fry so i add some different plants for them to hide in. Sadly this is when i get snails. Around Oct i do my first big snail control; remove all the river rocks and scrub them in bleach water, remove all other decorations, clean off all 6 different kinds of plants. I get the tank replanted and get an assassin snail to take care of the ones i missed. Guppies thriving, plants doing good, snails still multiplying. So i get a pair of yoyo loaches. I have the loaches for over a month now, and every morning i am squashing at least 30 MTS. So i set up a 20l tank and transfered the guppies, platyes, loaches, and cory to. They still seem happy as i have a new batch of 30 fry. I have bleached then boiled the river rocks to kill any eggs that may still be on them. I have all my plants in a bucket of old tank water. I deconstructed my 50h today.

Sorry for the long back story. Question i have is how do i treat the granite gravel to kill the snails? I have to 50h filled with fresh water and starting to cycle. Another question is how should i clean or treat my plants before i replant my tank?

Thank you for listening and advise is appreciated.

·
Registered
295 Posts