The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am fairly new to aquariums and I have a 20 Gallon Long planted community tank. Thank you everyone for your help!

I first got about 25 PFR's last Friday, 9/8/2017 and allowed about 3 hours for them to get acclimated to my water by slowing adding my water. Once they were in the tank, they were basically all swimming around and not even in a frantic way. As the days have gone by, I have found that around 5 of them have died, a couple look sluggish, and not nearly as many come out during the day... maybe around 10-12.

I've been looking online for what the problems might be, but I'm really not sure how to diagnose it. Today, I saw a shrimp with the white band across the middle which I have seen online is linked to molting problems. It wasn't dead though and I can't see anything molting-related in the other deaths. They look like they just keeled over and stopped moving :[

Here are the details of my tank:

I use API FW Master test kit and just got API test strips to do the GH/KH. I am getting the API FW GH/KH test kit tomorrow.

Temp Range: 76.8-78.2, normally in the high 77's
PH Tap: Very very high, like 8.4+, however that is right after it comes out
PH Tank: API Master - 7.4-7.8, API Test strip - 7
GH: ~120 (based on test strips, I'll update when i get the new test kit)
KH: ~40 (based on test strips, I'll update when i get the new test kit)
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: API Master - 5 PPM, API Test strip - 40 (???)

Stocking: 5 Espei Rasboras, 2 Neon Tetras (I know there should be a group), 3 Dwarf Emerald Rasboras, a bunch of painted fire reds.

Decorations: One large “Dragon” Rock, 2 medium Seiryu stones, 1 large piece of driftwood, big clump of Java moss, a few java ferns, one potted lutea, and I'm trying to grow staurogyne repens.

Filter - Aquaclear 50 gallon with a sponge filter over the intake