The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok folks, I'm very experienced with fish keeping, but am a complete noob to a planted tank. I've done a ton of reading and have majored in Horticulture so I feel very confident in the nutritional value and light requirements of plants. That being said, I still have a few questions.

I'm going to start out with a low tech 10 gallon tank just to see how things go... with plans on tearing down one of my 55 gallon tanks and turning that into a high tech if things go well on the 10.

I have an Eclipse 1 hood that has a bio wheel and carbon filter fitted in the hood. The only problem is it can only run a 15 watt fluorescent 18" bulb. Thus, I am only looking at getting 1.5 wpg. Can you all list some readily available plants that would work well in that range? I don't want to mess with CO2 on this tank... unless I do something with a DIY jello CO2.

I have the substrate, just am looking for some good plants that would work in that light range. I'm planning on stocking the tank with either some Black Ruby Barbs or Some Lemon Tetras at a couple otocinclus.

Thanks for all the help in advance!

·
Fresh Fish Freak
24,403 Posts
Welcome to TPT!

I run that same level of lighting over my own 10gal tank. Some plants that would probably work for you are Chain swords (E. tenellus, E. angustifolius, E. angustifolius 'vesuvius'), Sagittarias, Most Crypts, Bacopa sp., Hygrophila sp., Najas sp., Rotala indica, mosses, ferns, Anubias... you have lots of options, actually!

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
All of the above listed will work well. Just make sure you get a bulb in the right spectrum.

Cram the tank full of as many plants as possible from the start to help prevent algae.
Thanks for all the help you 2! I really appreciate it. What exactly do you mean by bulb in the right spectrum? The bulb I currently have is a 15 Watt T 8. Will that work?

·
Registered
392 Posts