The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So for the last few months i have been having big problems with my shrimp tank. Id like to thank everyone on this site for all the help. My tiger shrimp have been slowly dying and i am now convinced that it is not an issue with my water.
I lost a shrimp today and before it died i noticed small white worms on its head between the eyes. I did some research online and believe they are scutariella. I also have a infestation of what looks like rhabdacoela. Im not sure if they came with the shrimp i bought or the moss. I suspect the moss is more likely.
I tried to take some pics but my camera was not good enough to show any detail so i found some online that are very similar. Yea not pretty, and it seems to be a slow and miserable death for the shrimp.
I admit i am new to shrimp keeping but i have kept fish most of my life. I have learned that parasitic infestations can be very hard to deal with. Usually the medications can just as harmful to the tank as the parasite. Then there is still no guarantee you wont lose the fish.
I have about five or six tiger shrimp and mabey eight or ten blue velvets left in this tank.
So, what to do now? Is there a treatment out there that is worth trying? Or should i just call it a loss, break down the tank, bleach everything and start over.

·
Registered
5,116 Posts
The white fuzzy head is usually a sign of very bad water. I had this before when I started keeping shrimp and after a million posts online, I came up with salt dips that cleared it up for me and many others that have tried after me. Here is the thread about it.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=146903&highlight=