The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi ! I’m a beginner and I just set up and cycled my first tank and began adding fish a couple days ago. I planted the tank about 3 weeks ago and everything seems to be healthy. I have a couple java ferns and some java moss that seem to be doing fine so far.

I also got a free plant from a friend but he wasn’t exactly sure what it was, and I have no idea. It looks like it’s getting ready to spawn (roots and little stem growing from the leaves) and I was hoping someone could help me ID it so I can make sure the little ones survive and help fill out the rest of my tank since I’m on a budget and can’t afford to buy as many plants as I’d like. I attached it to a rock with some string and it appears to be doing fine, but I can always plant it in the substrate as well. I just kinda took a guess, considering the rest of my plants aren’t supposed to be buried in the substrate. Attaching a picture below. Thank you so much ! EDIT: also , if someone could give me a link as to how and when I should detach or move the baby plant from the mother or how best to do all of that id really appreciate it.

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
Looks a lot like Bolbitis Heteroclita. Let the little plants get a few leaves and the start of a little rhyzome before detaching.

(edited..) As far as planting, leave the entire plant on top of the substrate, burying the rhyzome will hurt the plant. It will grow holdfasts that will attach to either rock or wood and can also attach to gravel grains although they never really help anchor the plant well like attaching to heavier items do. And like your Java Moss and Fern, provide Low light and bare minimal fertilizing, generally fish waste and old food suffice, but don't forget your water changes.

·
Registered
75g, 33L, 2g and play tanks
276 Posts
Java Fern.