The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, this is my first post here. A little background, i have been keeping reef tanks for 10 years, and want a different challenge. I have always loved the look of some of the "artsy" planted aquariums i have seen.

So here is where i need help.

Can i use any of my saltwater stuff for FW? This is stuff i currently have: Tanks, powerheads, pumps, heaters, hang on back filters, sump, etc.

For my first tank, id like to have a 40 gallon breeder, and do a minimalist style aquascape (Iwagumi). Low growing plants which spread and form a "carpet". I would like to have a decent lighting system, i would think about doing a T5 retrofit. What do i need for equipment to do this low tech and low energy consumption?

What plants should i look at to achieve this look?

I consider myself pretty handy with DIY stuff, so alternative suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
Hey! Welcome to the forums.

You're saltwater fishkeeping experience should help you with the control of the parameters in your tank. As for low light/low tech it'll be diffucult to grow a carpet plant under those conditions. It's not impossible but you'll have to chose your plant selection carefully.

Marsilea Quadrifolia is my personal favorite carpet plant and should be able to carpet even in low lighting conditions. Co2 injection (DIY with yeast and sugar is pretty simple) is helpful but be careful to not gas your fish. It's something that you'll watch for and act on if it happens.

I stay with smaller setups because I move to and from my college dorm too often so I'll let other people comment on lighting for a 40 breeder.

As for your equipment, just about everything will still be useful. Powerheads can be helpful but many fish won't enjoy the current. It just depends on what you stock the tank with.

Have you thought about the fauna stocking?