The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow planted tank enthusiasts!

I've been lurking around your forums for about a week now, and I must say, you all have some amazing tanks!

I'm a college student, so my money supply is a little low, but I'm really getting into aquariums! I've got a 29 Gallon tank in my room which I picked up on Craigslist. Started out just having a couple goldfish in there, with fake plants, but recently decided to make the switch to real plants. I've been working on keeping them alive, and feel I'm doing pretty good so far! Of course, my fish are goldfish, which aren't always the best for planted tanks, but I'm managing right now!

There's a huge sale at my LFS this Friday, and I'm really interested in getting myself a Planted Nano started up! I'm thinking about getting a small 5.5 Gallon glass rectangle, and removing the rims. (Loving the looks of all the rimless tanks on this forum.) I'm going to need advice on what Filter to get, as well as what kind of substrate. I'm leaning towards Black Sand Flourite right now.

I'm kind of posting this all for two reasons,

1. To help me figure out what kind of things I should look at purchasing at the LFS, and
2. Get help on setting up either a DIY C02 project, or some other way of getting my plants to thrive.

Currently I have no C02 on my 29 gallon, but am VERY interested in getting something going in it. Like I said however, my money supply is very low, so I'm not sure what I can afford or what I can do to get something running. Advice in that area would be awesome! Currently I'm just using the Seachem products alone.

Thanks for any help you can give! This forum has been a huge help for getting me inspired as well as helping me understand what I can do if I put my mind to it! I'll put up some pictures of my 29 Gallon tonight, just so you guys can see what I have. :)

·
Registered
699 Posts
Hagen elite filter(co2 reactor) + DIY co2