The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, im new to the planted tank forums and new to tropical fish keeping. Only had my tropicals for about 6 months, however i have kept coldwater fish in the past - nothing exciting only goldfish!!
Right now I have a 54L/15 US gal tank with all my fish in (only has 3 real plants and I have no idea what they are!! I only got them yesterday for my gouramis) and I want to turn my old 19L/5 gal tank into a nano planted tank. I've never grown plants before, and im a bit confused about everything, and I cant seem to find any info on small, easy to look after plants on the internet. I know that java fern and java moss are easyish to look after, but I just don't know how to look after them. Im kind of interested in dwarf hairgrass and anubias nana petite as well, but again, how idea how to look after them. I also don't have any (good!) ideas about how to arrange the plants. I've looked for ideas on here and on aquascaping comps, but they all seem to be very complicated and slightly too big for my tank. I have designed a very simple idea for my tank, but Im just not sure and I think its too plain.
I really like the heavily planted tanks, but I think mine would look messy and is it too much for a beginner? Any help or ideas would be very much appreciated :)

·
Registered
477 Posts
ok here is perhaps the easiest scape to grow and create
the grassland scape

plants: Riccia, Echinodorus tennelus, elocharis a. (dwarf hairgrass), elocharis vivipara
all theese should be easy to find and are easy to grow

next get 3 rocks going from large to small, and do some iwagumi
if you are stuck copy something from this link (just lay them out ona table)
http://translate.google.com/transla...=es-es&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&prev=/language_tools

ok so when you have all your stuff
1. use card to make curvey partition in your tank to separate the sand and the aquasoil
2. fill in both parts and remove card