The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this hobby and on my way of setting up a 10Gallon planted tank.

So far what I have:

Waterbox Cube 10 (10 Gallon / 41 Liter tank)
Ada Amazona version 2 Aqua soil as substrate
Hardscape with rocks and some aquarium safe wood branches

I ordered some aqua plants and I plan to plant them in, fill with water, with "Easylife" and "Easystart" to begin with. I also bought a testing kit to test the water.

Although I think I did quite a lot of research, I still have some questions in mind:

1.I know I should let it run and make water changes for three weeks, and test the water until it's in the right parameters before putting in any fishes, but how often should I change the water?
2.I ordered some snails (Neritina sp. and Zebra Apple), but because of delivery delays, they are going to arrive way sooner than my plants. How can I keep them alive and happy temporarily before adding into the tank? The fish store said I can already put in the snails on the third day, but since I'm now using aquasoil instead of gravel, I'm not sure if that's a good idea, since I heard the ada amazona ver.2 might have ammonia spikes at the beginning, and maybe that would be bad for the snails?

Your kind advice will be very much appreciated :)

Much love,
Loewe

·
Registered
152 Posts