The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a small 5 gal tank. I purchased a small heater for the tank. My concern is the heater can not be adjusted. Will this heater cause my tank water to get to hot for my fish? It's suppose to be used in small tanks. I've been leaving it turn off now for the last 2 months, haven't lost any of my fish. water temp has been staying around 76. I have guppies, tetra's and a small sucker fish. All fish are very active.

I lost 3 female guppies when I first set up the tank. I think I was putting in to many fish to soon. I may not have let the tank cycle long enough also.

·
Registered
256 Posts
I have a small 5 gal tank. I purchased a small heater for the tank. My concern is the heater can not be adjusted. Will this heater cause my tank water to get to hot for my fish? It's suppose to be used in small tanks. I've been leaving it turn off now for the last 2 months, haven't lost any of my fish. water temp has been staying around 76. I have guppies, tetra's and a small sucker fish. All fish are very active.

I lost 3 female guppies when I first set up the tank. I think I was putting in to many fish to soon. I may not have let the tank cycle long enough also.
76 is fine, though it helps to be able to raise your temperature when treating certain illnesses. How many fish/what kind do you have in there? It sounds like it's overstocked. And the sucker fish isn't a pleco or a chinese algae eater is it?

·
Registered
933 Posts
I try to keep mine at 75 or 76 but it depends on the fish you have too. On my 10 gallon, Its heater on its lowest setting it 80 in the tank. I unplug it on hot days. I only worry about the cool nights. But I know my heater is bad, I'm just waiting to get a new one. I personally like the Stealth heaters. They don't have to be turned off during water changes and they are unbreakable (no glass).

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
heater