The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After reading (probably way too much reading) about which regulator to use; i.e., single vs. double stage, and being a complete novice at this kind of stuff, I am leery about setting up my Aquatek regulator for fear of CO2 dump when the tank is close to being empty. :eek5: Am I being unreasonably worried (read: paranoid)? Does it happen less frequently than it's been made to sound?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
It depends on how much your fish tank worth (the livestock, plants...), there are possibilities. I have never owned a single stage reg so I can't comment on eot part.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
I have four single stage and have only experienced EOTD once with them, and I've had the co2 tanks run right down to 0 from 800psi, with no dump. The one time it happened I can't really say for sure what the difference was. I also have a dual stage concoa 312. That gives me piece of mind. But that said, if you use a good needlve valve and solenoid etc, and you watch your tank pressure often, you're probably less likely to experience it. When it begins to drop from 800psi, and gets to say 700-600psi, that might be a good time to get the tank refillled.

·
Registered
133 Posts